The Flickr History Image Generatr

About

This page simply reformats the Flickr public Atom feed for purposes of finding inspiration through random exploration. These images are not being copied or stored in any way by this website, nor are any links to them or any metadata about them. All images are © their owners unless otherwise specified.

This site is a busybee project and is supported by the generosity of viewers like you.

BIOD #961 - Colored Entrance - Mobile, AL - 1956 by BioKnowlogy

© BioKnowlogy, all rights reserved.

BIOD #961 - Colored Entrance - Mobile, AL -  1956

Department Store, Mobile, Alabama, 1956
Gordon Parks (1912–2006)
LIFE Magazine

Key Details of the Photograph
•Subject: Joanne Wilson and her niece, members of the extended Thornton and Causey family whom Parks documented.
•Location: Mobile, Alabama, during the Jim Crow era of racial segregation.
•Medium: Color transparency, which was uncommon for serious photojournalism and social documentary at the time.
•Significance: The stark contrast between the dignified, elegant clothing of the subjects and the crude, dehumanizing sign highlights the harsh reality of systemic discrimination

Credit:
www.gordonparksfoundation.org/

For more about this iconic photo:
www.rhoffmangallery.com/news/gordon-parks34

by hillels

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

by hillels

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

by hillels

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

by hillels

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

by hillels

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

by hillels

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

by hillels

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

by hillels

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

by hillels

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

by hillels

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

Plaques in memory of First World War and Second World War on Franklin Wharf at Victoria Dock in Hobart, Tasmania by philip.mallis

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

Plaques in memory of First World War and Second World War on Franklin Wharf at Victoria Dock in Hobart, Tasmania

The First Division of the Australian Imperial Force, and in memory of the men and women of the Merchant Navy.

Animal statues at 'Heading South' memorial on Franklin Wharf at Victoria Dock in Hobart, Tasmania by philip.mallis

Available under a Creative Commons by-sa license

Animal statues at 'Heading South' memorial on Franklin Wharf at Victoria Dock in Hobart, Tasmania

Spam Museum by jericl cat

© jericl cat, all rights reserved.

Spam Museum

101 3rd Ave NE, Austin, MN

Echoes of Empire in the Forest by kewl

Available under a Creative Commons by license

Echoes of Empire in the Forest

Ancient Roman villa ruins, reclaimed by moss in the heart of the forest.

ArchivTappenSchulbuchWir Kinder8 Erstes Lesebüchlein, München, 1930er by Hans-Michael Tappen

ArchivTappenSchulbuchWir Kinder8 Erstes Lesebüchlein, München, 1930er

Text:
schau die feinen Soldaten
Toni ist auch dabei
trara bum bum
hurra

The Book of Numbers, Chapter 26 by Brett Jordan

Available under a Creative Commons by license

The Book of Numbers, Chapter 26

Island Cemetery - Belmont Chapel by Frank C. Grace (Trig Photography)

© Frank C. Grace (Trig Photography), all rights reserved.

Island Cemetery - Belmont Chapel

Island Cemetery
Newport, RI
July 14, 2026

"The focal point of Island Cemetery is the Belmont Memorial Chapel. The chapel was built in 1886-1888 by August Belmont, a wealthy banker who secured his place in society when he wed Newport socialite Caroline Slidell Perry, daughter of Commodore Matthew Galbraith Perry. The Richardsonian-Romanesque chapel, the work of George Chaplin Mason and Son, was built as a memorial to their deceased 19 year old daughter Jane Pauline. “Patience” is inscribed in many locations in the interior of the chapel. The chapel’s original purpose was to serve as a site to hold committal services for those being buried at the Island Cemetery. The chapel, which was deeded after completion to the Island Cemetery, is a 1-1/2 story, late Victorian-style building constructed of rock-faced brownstone; its picturesque massing of tall dormers, entrance portico and belfry make it a focal point of the cemetery. No bodies are entombed in the chapel, but some are buried in the large front burial circle, including August and Caroline, who reside in sarcophagi, as well as their son August II and Commodore Matthew Perry, who is credited with opening up trade with Japan in 1853.

August Belmont died in 1890 before he had established an endowment to ensure the chapel maintenance. Over time, the building had seriously deteriorated and was barely visible under the ivy that covered it.

In 2014, the Belmont Chapel Foundation was established to restore and preserve the chapel. In 2020, the Belmont Chapel Foundation embarked on a Capital Campaign to begin the restoration of the beautiful 19th century Romanesque chapel. The Foundation received major grant awards from the Alletta Morris McBean Charitable Trust, the van Beuren Charitable Foundation, Preserve RI/1772 and the Champlin Foundation as well as individuals who funded the total cost of the overall restoration; approximately $2.5 million.

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire du Judaïsme by xiquinhosilva

Available under a Creative Commons by license

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire du Judaïsme

The Musée d'Art et d'Histoire du Judaïsme, commonly known as mahJ, is a significant cultural institution located in the historic Hôtel de Saint-Aignan in Paris' Marais district. It offers a comprehensive exploration of Jewish art and history, showcasing a rich collection that spans from the Middle Ages to the present day.

The museum's dynamic exhibitions and programs reflect the vibrant tapestry of Jewish culture and its multifaceted history.

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire du Judaïsme by xiquinhosilva

Available under a Creative Commons by license

Musée d'Art et d'Histoire du Judaïsme

The Musée d'Art et d'Histoire du Judaïsme, commonly known as mahJ, is a significant cultural institution located in the historic Hôtel de Saint-Aignan in Paris' Marais district. It offers a comprehensive exploration of Jewish art and history, showcasing a rich collection that spans from the Middle Ages to the present day.

The museum's dynamic exhibitions and programs reflect the vibrant tapestry of Jewish culture and its multifaceted history.